• What should I read next?
  • When does the book group meet

Book Group News

“There is comfort, even among strangers, when people find something they are equally passionate about.” 

 

All book groups will meet via a toll-free conference call. Please contact the shop at rakestraw_books@yahoo.com for details on how to use this service.

2nd Monday Evening -- Mystery Monday Book Group
This group meets on Monday, 11 October 2021 5 PM to discuss The State Counsellor by Boris Akunin. Staff facilitator: Susan and Ellen.

3rd Tuesday Morning -- Loucy's Book Group
This group meets on Tuesday, 19 October  2021 at 10:30 AM to discuss The Henna Artist by Alka Joshi. Staff facilitator: Loucy.

3rd Wednesday Evening -- But "First" Wine Book Group
This group meets on Wednesday, 20 October 2021 at 7 PM to discuss The Year of the Witching by Alexis Henderson. Staff facilitators: Anastasia.

3rd Saturday Morning -- The Transatlantic Book Club
This international group -- we have partnered with a great bookshop in England! -- meets on Saturday, 16 October 2021 at 9:00 AM (via Zoom) to discuss Piranesi by
Susanna Clarke. Staff facilitator: Michael.

4th Tuesday Evening -- The "I Love This Book" Book Group
This group meets on Tuesday, 28 September at 7 PM (via Zoom) with guest author/moderator Bill Clegg to discuss City Of Girls by Elizabeth Gilbert. Staff facilitator: Michael.

4th Friday Morning -- Julie's Book Group
This group meets on Friday, 22 October 2021 at 10:30 AM
(via Zoom) to discuss A Girl Named Zippy by Haven Kimmel. Staff facilitator: Julie.

These groups are free of charge and open to the whole community. Just read the book and come along to be part of these lively discussions.

The State Counsellor: A Fandorin Mystery Cover Image
By Boris Akunin, Andrew Bromfield (Translator)
$16.00
ISBN: 9780802127822
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Mysterious Press - February 5th, 2019

The Henna Artist Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780778331476
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Mira Books - April 6th, 2021

Staff Pick Badge
The Year of the Witching Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593099612
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ace Books - June 15th, 2021

Perfect for fans of Naomi Novik and Katherine Arden. What if Arthur Miller’s The Crucible had real witches with dark intent? This debut explores what it was like being a woman in a puritanical society, the power of religion, and destiny. -- Anastasia


Piranesi Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781635577808
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - September 28th, 2021

City of Girls: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781594634741
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - April 7th, 2020

A Girl Named Zippy: Growing Up Small in Mooreland, Indiana Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780767915052
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Crown - September 3rd, 2002