• What should I read next?
  • When does the book group meet
  • A Promised Land

Book Group News


Update: Effective 3/13/2020 All book groups will meet via a toll-free conference call. Please contact the shop at rakestraw_books@yahoo.com for details on how to use this service.

“There is comfort, even among strangers, when people find something they are equally passionate about.”  

3rd Tuesday Morning -- Loucy's Group
This group meets on Tuesday, 20 October 2020 at 10:30 AM to discuss The Elephant Whisperer: My Life with the Herd in the African Wild by Lawrence Anthony with Graham Spencer. Staff facilitator: Loucy.

3rd Wednesday Evening -- "But 'First' Wine" Book Group
This group meets on Wednesday, 21 October 2020 at 7 PM to discuss Something To Live For (Previously published as How Not to Die Alone) by Richard Roper. Staff facilitators: Anastasia.

4th Tuesday Evening -- The "I Love This Book" Book Group
This group is on hiatus until further notice. Staff facilitator: Michael.

4th Friday Morning -- Julie's Group
This group meets on Friday, 23 October 2020 at 10:30 AM
to discuss Nothing to See Here by Kevin Wilson. Staff facilitator: Julie.

These groups are free of charge and open to the whole community. Just read the book and come along to be part of these lively discussions.

Staff Pick Badge
The Elephant Whisperer: My Life with the Herd in the African Wild Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250007810
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - May 22nd, 2012

True story about a game reserve owner in South Africa that takes on a rogue herd of elephants. Between animal interactions, Zulu politics and poaching attempts, it’s a wild ride. Great storytelling. -- Susan


Staff Pick Badge
Something to Live For Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780525539896
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - July 28th, 2020

Perfect for fans of Nick Hornby, Gail Honeyman, and Matt Haig. In this humorous debut, a white lie takes on a life of its own. Andrew tells his coworkers that he has a perfect life and a perfect family, when he has actually been single for years. When he meets someone that he wants to connect with, will his lie destroy any chance of a possible relationship? -- Anastasia


Nothing to See Here Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062913494
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ecco - September 1st, 2020