• What should I read next?
  • When does the book group meet

After Lambana: A Graphic Novel: Myth and Magic in Manila (Paperback)

After Lambana: A Graphic Novel: Myth and Magic in Manila Cover Image
By Eliza Victoria, Mervin Malonzo (Illustrator)
$16.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


Immerse yourself in a fantasy world of Filipino myth, magic, and supernatural suspense

Lambana--the realm of supernatural fairies known as Diwata--has fallen, and the Magic Prohibition Act has been enacted. To add to his troubles, there's something wrong with Conrad's heart and only magic can prolong his life. He teams up with Ignacio, a well-connected friend who promises to hook him up with the Diwata and their magical treatments--a quest that's not only risky but highly illegal

On the shadowy, noir-tinged streets of Manila, multiple realities co-exist and intertwine as the two friends seek a cure for the magical malady. Slinky sirens and roaming wraith-like spirits populate a parallel world ruled by corruption and greed, which Conrad must enter to find the cure he seeks. He has little idea of the creatures he will encounter and the truths to be revealed along the way. Will Lambana spill its secrets and provide the healing balm Conrad needs? Or will he perish in the process?

Fans of Neil Gaiman, Emil Ferris and Charles Burns will love this new graphic novel.

About the Author


Eliza Victoria is the author of several award-winning novels including the Philippine National Book Award winner Dwellers (2014), Wounded Little Gods (2016), and her science fiction collection Nightfall (2018). Her stories and poetry have appeared in online and print publications, most recently in LONTAR: The Journal of Southeast Asian Speculative Fiction, The Best Asian Speculative Fiction, The Dark Magazine, Dark Regions Press's Strand-ed: Lone Survivor Deserted Island Horror Stories, and The Apex Book of World SF Volume 5 Mervin Malonzo graduated magna cum laude from the University of the Philippines, Diliman with a Bachelor's degree in Fine Arts, majoring in Painting. He is a designer, painter, and cartoonist. He has his own design and web development team, Pepe & the Polygons, based in Paranaque, the Philippines, and is the co-founder and lead designer for The Quarterly Bathroom Companion Comics Compendium, or the QBCCC anthology. His design and animation work can be seen at www.mervinmalonzo.com and www.pepeandthepolygons.com.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780804855259
ISBN-10: 0804855250
Publisher: Tuttle Publishing
Publication Date: May 10th, 2022
Pages: 192
Language: English