• What should I read next?
  • When does the book group meet

Something to Say (MP3 CD)

Staff Pick Badge
Something to Say By Lisa Moore Ramée, Sisi Aisha Johnson (Read by) Cover Image
$43.99
Email or call for price.

Staff Reviews


Janae is very shy, and worries that her strong feelings have caused damage to her loved ones. A new friend helps her gain the confidence to speak up, and Janae becomes an ally and an activist. I adore the 2 main characters! Great humor.

— Susan

Description


From the author of A Good Kind of Trouble, a Walter Dean Myers Honor Book, comes another unforgettable story about finding your voice--and finding your people. Perfect for fans of Sharon Draper, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds.

Eleven-year-old Jenae doesn't have any friends--and she's just fine with that. She's so good at being invisible in school, it's almost like she has a superpower, like her idol, Astrid Dane. At home, Jenae has plenty of company, like her no-nonsense mama; her older brother, Malcolm, who is home from college after a basketball injury; and her beloved grandpa, Gee.

Then a new student shows up at school--a boy named Aubrey with fiery red hair and a smile that won't quit. Jenae can't figure out why he keeps popping up everywhere she goes. The more she tries to push him away, the more he seems determined to be her friend. Despite herself, Jenae starts getting used to having him around.

But when the two are paired up for a class debate about the proposed name change for their school, Jenae knows this new friendship has an expiration date. Aubrey is desperate to win and earn a coveted spot on the debate team.

There's just one problem: Jenae would do almost anything to avoid speaking up in front of an audience--including risking the first real friendship she's ever had.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781094168067
ISBN-10: 1094168068
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: July 14th, 2020
Language: English