• What should I read next?
  • When does the book group meet

POSTPONED -- Celebrate VE Day with Janet Skeslien Charles & The Paris Library

POSTPONED! SATURDAY, 8 MAY 2021 at 9:30 / IN CONVERSATION

Janet Skeslien Charles, The Paris Library

Based on the true World War II story of the heroic librarians at the American Library in Paris, this is an unforgettable story of romance, friendship, family, and the power of literature to bring us together, perfect for fans of The Lilac Girls and The Paris Wife.

Paris, 1939: Young and ambitious Odile Souchet has it all: her handsome police officer beau and a dream job at the American Library in Paris. When the Nazis march into Paris, Odile stands to lose everything she holds dear, including her beloved library. Together with her fellow librarians, Odile joins the Resistance with the best weapons she has: books. But when the war finally ends, instead of freedom, Odile tastes the bitter sting of unspeakable betrayal.

Montana, 1983: Lily is a lonely teenager looking for adventure in small-town Montana. Her interest is piqued by her solitary, elderly neighbor. As Lily uncovers more about her neighbor’s mysterious past, she finds that they share a love of language, the same longings, and the same intense jealousy, never suspecting that a dark secret from the past connects them.

A powerful novel that explores the consequences of our choices and the relationships that make us who we are—family, friends, and favorite authors—The Paris Library shows that extraordinary heroism can sometimes be found in the quietest of places.

Join us for a special virtual visit with author Janet Skeslien Charles on Saturday, 8 May 2021 at 9:30 AM (PT) -- the Saturday before Mother's Day and the 76th Anniversary of VE Day. POSTPONED!

Event date: 

Saturday, May 8, 2021 - 9:30am to 10:30am

Event address: 

via CrowdCast.io
Danville, CA 94526
Staff Pick Badge
The Paris Library: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781982134198
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atria Books - February 9th, 2021

Both Michael and Ellen loved this wonderful novel -- inspired by a true story! -- set largely in Paris during WWII. Highly recommended.